Four notes was all it took [Weekly Writing Challenge: Moved by Music]

Music is powerful: it conjures memories, emotions, and people and things of the past. It’s not only a trigger, but an outlet to express who we are. For this challenge, pick one song and write about it — or use it as inspiration for a post. The track may be personally meaningful, or remind you of something, someone, or some event you can look back on.

Remember that girl Katniss Everdeen teamed up with in the 74th Hunger Games? Well, this post is about her four-note song (and its full orchestra version below). I suggest you listen to the music first before you proceed.

 The song has no words; it need not have words. The music alone evokes so much sadness, so much grief that most Tributes (Hunger Games fans, that is) like myself would shed tears or stop whatever they’re doing when they hear the whistle. The development of this full version of a short whistle song, for me, served as a moment of glory for RUE. She died in such a disturbing way; whenever I hear the song, it’s almost as though I relive the moment again and again.

Despite this, it also relaxes me and soothes my nerves. I don’t know why, but maybe because it is a reminder that some things are worth..not dying for, that’s too grave and serious, but rather some things are worth making an effort for. It is a reminder that even the best plans have loopholes, that we can lose even the best people in the blink of an eye. It is a reminder that we should make the most out of life while we still have it. Or maybe it just reminds me of that innocent little girl. I can never tell.

7 thoughts on “Four notes was all it took [Weekly Writing Challenge: Moved by Music]

Well, what can you say? :)